Black Power

The man in the mirror’s asking me to make a change.

I wish I could say that the change had something to do with civil liberties or global equality, but it only has to do with my clothes.  If I say it has to do with sartorial social location, does that sound more noble…err…that’s all I got.  Anyways, while I’m not going to go all the way and eradicate all color from my closest, I’m going to use an unexpected Jay-Z line and fade to black– you thought I was gonna say “all black everything”, but I’m NOT gonna say “all black everything” (allblackeverythingallblackeverythingallblackeverything).  Bestie and I have been talking about it’s quality, the mood it exudes, the connotation it carries with it. It’s not JUST a PR girl uniform, it’s a minimalist statement, it’s also a militant statement. It’s leather, it’s fur, it’s rough and not.  It works with pops of color or it stands independently.  It’s all over the place, but it all really needs to be in my closet.

From there…my musings:

That’s me, holding the skinny white lady.

More pictures of me, with my clothes on to come- after the jump.

//dor.

Published by Dushane Ramsay

Creative Strategist with dope shoes.

Leave a comment